Skip to Main Content

Kemper Library: Eaton Hall

Welcome to our library!

Our students in middle school come to the library regularly with their English classes for library lessons and book checkout. Students may also come before and after school to select books. Research skills are continually practiced as classes in different subject areas come to the library to work on a variety of projects.

Did you know?

Parents are welcome to come and check out books from our library. Stop by after school anytime - Mrs. Holley is happy to help you find what you need!
Checkout time is for two weeks, although books may be renewed at any time. There are no fines for overdue books.
The library is open from 8:00-4:30 each day.
You will need a password for our subscription databases. Please see the password list.

Kemper Library Catalog

Destiny Catalog Search

Other Library Catalogs

Roanoke Valley Libraries
more...less...
Search the library catalogs for all Roanoke Valley Libraries.

Library Cards - Roanoke Valley Libraries

Library Card Application - Roanoke Valley Libraries
You can find information here about applying for a library card for our local public library system. It's free and easy to do and will give you access to all kinds of digital resources in addition to those within the libraries!

Online Encyclopedias

World Book Online

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

General Research

World Book Timelines

World Book Timelines
Timelines covering many subjects. Includes features for students and teachers to create and share their own timelines.

Reading Recommendations

Novelist K-8 Plus
NoveList K-8 Plus is provided by the Library of Virginia. After clicking on the link, scroll down to find Novelist K-8 Plus. This site offers all kinds of options for selecting the next book you'd like to read.

Greer - Latin America Research

Databases
Websites

Epic
Enter your class code to use Epic while you are at school.

Modern World History
Be sure to notice the Timelines feature at the top of the page in your search results.

CIA World Factbook
Use the drop down box to select a country to view.
National Geographic Kids
Use the search box to find country profiles. This is a simpler overview, but there is some good information here.

History

Databases
Websites

American History
"American History is a comprehensive resource that spans our nation’s history, with a user-friendly interface and award-winning content. The home page offers many ways to begin exploring the material, from the videos, slideshow overviews, and Topic Centers to the lists of key content handpicked by our editors to help users find a starting point for research."
Modern World History
"Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history. "
Ancient and Medieval History
"Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, primary sources, maps and graphs, timelines, articles, and suggested search terms."
Issues and Controversies in History
"Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical dispute, each article is supported by a timeline and a wealth of primary sources. Some articles feature original videos with historic footage, special educator resources, and a counterfactual “what if” section speculating on how history might have turned out differently had people made other decisions."
World Geography and Culture

Smithsonian Learning Lab
more...less...
The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access created the Smithsonian Learning Lab to inspire the discovery and creative use of its rich digital materials—more than a million images, recordings, and texts. It is easy to find something of interest because search results display pictures rather than lists. Whether you've found what you were looking for or just discovered something new, it's easy to personalize it. Add your own notes and tags, incorporate discussion questions, and save and share. The Learning Lab makes it simple.
LOC Digital Collections
Digital Public Library of America
more...less...
Discover 29,454,141 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Digital History
more...less...
Designed and developed to support the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges and supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston.
Umbra Search
Umbra Search is a digital library and discovery service for resources documenting African American history.

Civics, History, Government Interactives using Primary Sources (from Library of Congress)

DBQuest from iCivics
more...less...
Teaches history and civics through the use of primary source documents and evidence-based learning. It offers a platform, accessible with mobile devices, that reinforces evidence-based reasoning and Document Based Questioning by teaching students to identify and evaluate evidence, contextualize information, and write sound supporting arguments.
Case Maker
more...less...
Case Maker features twenty pre-made civics challenges that teachers can share with their students.
Eagle Eye Citizen
more...less...
Engages middle and high school students in solving and creating interactive challenges on American history, civics, and government with Library of Congress primary sources in order to develop students' civic understanding and historical thinking skills.
Engaging Congress
more...less...
Engaging Congress is a fun, interactive game that uses primary source documents to explore the basic tenets of representative government and the challenges they face in contemporary society.
usa gov (statistics)
Scroll down the page for links to statistical information from the U.S. Government.

Literature

Bloom's Literature

CommonLit.org
more...less...
CommonLit delivers high-quality, free instructional materials to support literacy development for students in grades 3-12.

Shakespeare:

Shakespeare's Sonnets
From the Folger Shakepeare Library. Scroll down to find the link to read a book of Shakepeare's sonnets online here. There is also a link to download the text for free.
As You Like It
From the Folger Shakespeare Library. Scroll down to find the link to read As You Like It online here. There is also a link to download the text for free.
Julius Caesar
From the Folger Shakespeare Library. Scroll down to find the link to read Julius Caesar online here. There is also a link to download the text for free.
Much Ado About Nothing
From the Folger Shakespeare Library. Scroll down to find the link to read Much Ado About Nothing online here. There is also a link to download the text for free.
The Taming of the Shrew
From the Folger Shakespeare Library. Scroll down to find the link to read The Taming of the Shrew online here. There is also a link to download the text for free.
Twelfth Night
From the Folger Shakespeare Library. Scroll down to find the link to read Twelfth Night online here. There is also a link to download the text for free.

Science

Databases
Websites

Science Online
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Science News for Students
more...less...
Founded in 2003, Science News for Students is an award-winning online publication dedicated to providing age-appropriate, topical science news to learners, parents, and educators.
Curiosity Machine
more...less...
Whether you want quality learning challenges to do at home or curriculum for a classroom of eager learners, Curiosity Machine is a perfect source of inspiration to fuel curiosity, creativity, and perseverance while learning about the science and technology that will drive the future.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
more...less...
The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access created the Smithsonian Learning Lab to inspire the discovery and creative use of its rich digital materials—more than a million images, recordings, and texts. It is easy to find something of interest because search results display pictures rather than lists. Whether you've found what you were looking for or just discovered something new, it's easy to personalize it. Add your own notes and tags, incorporate discussion questions, and save and share. The Learning Lab makes it simple.
NASA links for grades 5-8

Math

Khan Academy
Prodigy
more...less...
Prodigy is an epic adventure math game that will engage students in a quest at the same time they are learning math.

Family History/Genealogy

Ancestry K12
Ancestry is the world's largest family history resource! We have a grant from Ancestry for Ancestry K12. It can be accessed while you are on campus, and no password is required.
Fold 3
Fold3 provides access to U.S. military records. We have a grant for this subscription from Ancestry. It can be accessed while you are on campus, and no password is required.
HeritageHub
Use your Roanoke Valley Public Libraries card to access this site.
"Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7."

National Archives Link for Genealogists
more...less...
Learn how you can use the resources at the National Archives to explore your family's ancestry.
Family Search
RootsWeb
Ellis Island Passenger Search
Explore Ellis Island's database of 65 million passenger records.
Find a Grave
more...less...
Search or browse cemeteries and grave records for people from around the world.
Internet Archive
You might try looking up a family name here, this site has a number of digitized family histories.
JewishGen
This site priovides access to millions of records related to Jewish history and genealogy.

Newspapers.com
Search a wide range of historical newspapers from across the United States. We have a grant for this subscription from Ancestry. It can be accessed while you are on campus, and no password is required.
News & Magazine Articles - Roanoke County Public Library
Click on eNewspapers to see the options for newspaper access. You will need your public library card from the Roanoke Valley Libraries to access these databases.

Family Tree Chart (Blank)

Family Echo
Create a free family tree on this site.
My Heritage
more...less...
Create your own family trees, including photos or other artifacts.

Coding & Computer Science

EarSketch
more...less...
Provides an innovative learning experience by blending computer coding concepts with music theory.
Tinkercad
more...less...
Tinkercad is a free online collection of software tools that help people all over the world think, create and make. It's the ideal introduction to Autodesk, the leader in 3D design, engineering and entertainment software.
App Inventor
more...less...
App Inventor makes the process of designing Android Apps fun and accessible.
Code.org
more...less...
Provides the leading curriculum for K-12 computer science in the United States.
Pyonkee App Link
Use the Pyonkee app for visual coding (like Scratch) on your ipad.

Spanish

Databases
Websites

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
This dedicated Spanish-language database contains videos, compare-and-contrast features, selected articles, and a visual dictionary to allow ESL students and Spanish-learners the chance to learn. Integrated with World Book Kids for parallel English-language content.
World Geography and Culture

Epic!
Epic Books is an ebook subscription site. There is a small monthly fee to subscribe, but the collection is fantastic! There is also an app available.
Brain Pop Spanish
Transparent Language
You will need to use your public library card to set up a free account, as this product is available through the Library of Virginia. Anyone can learn over 110 languages anytime, anywhere, on any device!

Duolingo
more...less...
Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. Practice online on duolingo.com or on the apps!
The Language Gym
more...less...
Has a wide range of activities and games for French and Spanish.
Newsela in Spanish

French

Transparent Language
You will need to use your public library card to set up a free account, as this product is available through the Library of Virginia. Anyone can learn over 110 languages anytime, anywhere, on any device!
Duolingo
more...less...
Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. Practice online on duolingo.com or on the apps!
A Vos Plumes!
more...less...
Find essay guidelines, grammar exercises and video lessons, and vocabulary building. From the UVA Department of French Language and Literature.
BrainPOP French

World Geography and Culture

Digital Media

Databases
Websites

Newsela
Enter your class code for assigned articles, or just sign up to read some great articles!
more...less...
This news tool brings together engaging, accessible content with integrated assessments.
Umbra Search
Umbra Search is a digital library and discovery service for resources documenting African American history.

LOC Digital Collections
Digital Public Library of America
more...less...
Discover 29,454,141 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Internet Archive
more...less...
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Images

ImageQuest

BrainPOP

BrainPOP
Our school has a BrainPOP subscription! Check your password list for access.

Issues & Controversies

Issues and Controversies
"Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, all articles provide essential context, supported by statistics, timelines, and primary sources. Many issues feature original videos and educator resources as well as live debates, newspaper editorials, audio content, and breaking news."
Issues and Controversies in History
"Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical dispute, each article is supported by a timeline and a wealth of primary sources. Some articles feature original videos with historic footage, special educator resources, and a counterfactual “what if” section speculating on how history might have turned out differently had people made other decisions."

CQ Researcher
more...less...
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. We do not have a subscription to CQ Researcher, but a number of the articles can be accessed at no charge, This is a great place to look for topic ideas.

ProCon
Presents pros and cons of controversial issues.
Allsides
Allsides presents news articles from different angles.

usa gov (statistics)
Scroll down the page for links to statistical information from the U.S. Government.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government's open data.

News & Magazine Articles - Roanoke County Public Library
Click on eNewspapers to see the options for newspaper access. You will need your public library card from the Roanoke Valley Libraries to access these databases.

Open Access eBooks

Oxford University Press Open Access Books
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 57,000 free eBooks.
Open Library
more...less...
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog which currently contains over 16 million unique works .
Google Books
HathiTrust
more...less...
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Art

Smarthistory
Smithsonian Explore Art & Design
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Art Institute Chicago
Met Publications
Five decades of art history from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, available to read, download, or search for free!
Girl Museum

Music

Learn a New Language!

Transparent Language
You will need to use your public library card to set up a free account, as this product is available through the Library of Virginia. Anyone can learn over 110 languages anytime, anywhere, on any device!

eBooks & Audiobooks

SORA
Sora is an ebook app that is the school version of the public library Libby app. Using this link, you can read ebooks from our school collection, as well as link your public library account to read ebooks, too. Students in grades 4-12 will sign in using their North Cross email. Students in JK3-3rd grade will sign in with the user name and password provided by their teacher.
**If you download the app, use the setup code northcrossva.**

Additional SORA features:

Download titles to read later.

Add a public library to your account.

Definitions, highlights, and notes in SORA

Selecting dyslexic font or high contrast font

Epic
Epic Books is a fantastic eBook subscription site. Your teacher will send more information about how to access Epic.

Bloom's Literature

Libby/Overdrive
Use Libby to access ebooks, audiobooks, and digital magazines for checkout! You will need your Roanoke Valley Library card to set up a free account for access. More information found at this link!

Interesting Sites to Browse

What's Going on in this Graph?
What's Going on in this Picture?
Ted-Ed
Useful Science
The Kid Should See This
Each video on TKSST is selected to contribute to a kid-friendly corner on the internet that doesn’t underestimate what children can learn or what they might be interested in.

Online Learning & Homework Help

Khan Academy

Keyboarding Practice

Typing.com
more...less...
Typing lessons designed by keyboarding experts, for students of every skill level.
Typing Club
more...less...
Learn touch typing online using TypingClub's free typing courses. 650 typing games, typing tests and videos are incuded.

Research Occupations

Occupational Outlook Handbook
more...less...
This site is available through the U.S. Department of Labor and can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

Business & Economics

Economy at a Glance
more...less...
Information about each state's economy provided by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Consumer Reports
Enter your public library card number for free access to Consumer Reports.
usa gov (statistics)
Scroll down the page for links to statistical information from the U.S. Government.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government's open data.

Summer Reading

Link to Summer Reading Website