LibGuides: Kemper Library: Home

Searching Kemper Library's Catalog (On-Campus Link)

Library Catalog (ON-CAMPUS LINK)
Use this link to access Kemper Library's online catalog when you are on campus.

Library Catalog (OFF-CAMPUS LINK)
Use this link to search Kemper Library's catalog when you are not on campus.

Lower School Pages
Access the pages for your child’s grade level and all subject areas here.

Library Card Application - Roanoke Valley Libraries
You can find information here about applying for a library card for our local public library system. It's free and easy to do and will give you access to all kinds of digital resources in addition to those within the libraries!

Ancestry K12
Ancestry is the world's largest family history resource! We have a grant from Ancestry for Ancestry K12. It can be accessed while you are on campus, and no password is required.
Fold 3
Fold3 provides access to U.S. military records. We have a grant for this subscription from Ancestry. It can be accessed while you are on campus, and no password is required.
Newspapers.com
Search a wide range of historical newspapers from across the United States. We have a grant for this subscription from Ancestry. It can be accessed while you are on campus, and no password is required.
HeritageHub
Use your Roanoke Valley Public Libraries card to access this site.
"Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7."

National Archives Link for Genealogists
more...less...
Learn how you can use the resources at the National Archives to explore your family's ancestry.
Find a Grave
more...less...
Search or browse cemeteries and grave records for people from around the world.
RootsWeb
Family Tree Chart
Family Search
Ellis Island Passenger Search
Explore Ellis Island's database of 65 million passenger records.
My Heritage
more...less...
Create your own family trees, including photos or other artifacts.
Family History Daily
Explore articles on a variety of topics relating to genealogy research. Research tips and information about free sites are found here, too.

GoodReads
Goodreads is a social cataloging website that allows individuals to freely search its database of books, annotations, and reviews. Users can sign up and register books to generate library catalogs and reading lists.
LibraryThing
LibraryThing offers tools for cataloging and tracking your books, music, and movies. Edit your information, search and sort it, and "tag" books with your own subjects.
Litsy
Litsy is a place to share and discover your favorite books with your favorite people.Get the app and begin sharing reviews, finding recommendations, and organizing your reading list.

BookBrowse
BookBrowse is an online magazine for booklovers - including reviews, previews, "beyond the book" articles, author interviews, reading guides, and much more.
Gnooks
Gnod is kind of a search engine for literature you don't know about. It will ask you which authors you like and then think about which other authors you might like too.
BookBub
BookBub is a free service that helps millions of readers discover books they'll love while providing publishers and authors with a way to drive sales and find new fans. Upon joining, members receive handpicked recommendations and real-time updates from their favorite authors.

Transparent Language
You will need to use your public library card to set up a free account, as this product is available through the Library of Virginia. Anyone can learn over 110 languages anytime, anywhere, on any device!

Magzter Digital Library Edition
Magzter provides free access to hundreds of magazines. You will need a Roanoke Valley Libraries Card in order to set up a free account to use Magzter.
Consumer Reports
Enter your public library card number for free access to Consumer Reports.